Subscribe to San Francisco Magazine

Mod Lux Feeds

Now Playing

The Best of the Bay Area 2010: Readers' Poll

Your 14,565 votes, boldly cast.

Best new restaurant
1. Flour + Water: 2401 Harrison S., 415-826-7000, S.F., flourandwater.com
2. Frances: 3870 17th St., S.F., 415-621-3870, frances-sf.com
3. RN74: 301 Mission St., S.F., 415-543-7474, michaelmina.net/rn74

Best uniquely San Francisco restaurant
1. Tadich Grill: 240 California St., S.F., 415-391-1849, tadichgrill.com
2. Maverick: 3316 17th St., S.F., 415-863-3061, sfmaverick.com
3. Cliff House: 1090 Point Lobos Ave., S.F., 415-386-3330, cliffhouse.com

Best weekend brunch
1. Maverick: 3316 17th St., S.F., 415-863-3061, sfmaverick.com
2. Foreign Cinema: 2534 Mission St., S.F., 415-648-7600, foreigncinema.com
3. Zazie: 941 Cole St., S.F., 415-564-5332, zaziesf.com

Best late-night bites
1. Nopa: 560 Divisadero St., S.F., 415-864-8643, nopasf.com
2. Globe: 290 Pacific Ave., S.F., 415-391-4132, globerestaurant.com
3. Beretta: 1199 Valencia St., S.F., berettasf.com

Best sandwich
1. Ike’s Place: 3506 16th St., S.F., 415-553-6888, ilikeikesplace.com
2. Bakesale Betty’s fried-chicken sandwich: 5098 Telegraph Ave., Oakland, 510-985-1213, bakesalebetty.com
3. Saigon Sandwich: 560 Larkin St., S.F., 415-474-5698

Best cup of coffee
1. Peet’s Coffee & Tea: Various locations, peets.com
2. Blue Bottle Coffee Company: Various locations, bluebottlecoffee.net
3. Philz Coffee: Various locations, philzcoffee.com

Best wine store
1. K&L Wine Merchants: 638 4th St., S.F., 415-896-1734, klwines.com
2. BevMo!: Various locations, bevmo.com
3. Trader Joe’s: Various locations, traderjoes.com

Best house-cured meats
1. Boccalone Salumeria: Ferry Building Marketplace, (Market St. at Embarcadero), S.F., 415-433-6500, boccalone.com
2. Perbacco: 230 California St., S.F., 415-955-0663, perbaccosf.com
3. Dittmer’s Gourmet Meats and Wurst-Haus: 400 San Antonio Rd., Mountain View, 650-941-3800 dittmers.com

Best dive bar
1. Zeitgeist: 199 Valencia St., S.F., 415-255-7505, zeitgeistsf.com
2. 500 Club: 500 Guerrero St., S.F., 415-861-2500, fivehundredclub.com
3A. Gale’s Central Club: 106 Petaluma Blvd. N., Petaluma, 707-763-0118
3B. Homestead: 2301 Folsom St., S.F., 415-282-4663
3C. Zeki’s Bar: 1319 California St., S.F., 415-928-0677, zekisbar.com

Best Bay Area–based business
1. Apple: 1 Infinite Loop, Cupertino, 408-996-1010, apple.com
2. Google: 1600 Ampitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, 650-253-0000, google.com
3. Peet’s Coffee & Tea: 1400 Park Ave., Emeryville, 510-594-2100, peets.com

Best nonprofit event/gala
1. San Francisco General Hospital Foundation’s Hearts After Dark: sfghf.net/hearts_after_dark
2. San Francisco Symphony’s Black & White Ball: sfsymphony.org/ball
3. Lifehouse Agency’s Great Chefs and Wineries: lifehouseagency.org

Best museum late/free night
1. NightLife at the California Academy of Sciences: 55 Music Concourse Dr., S.F., 415-379-8000, calacademy.org/events/nightlife
2. Friday Nights at the De Young: 50 Hagiwara Tea Garden Dr., S.F., 415-750-3600, deyoung.famsf.org
3. SFMOMA Thursday Nights: 151 3rd St., S.F., 415-357-4000, sfmoma.org

Best live entertainment venue
1. Yoshi’s: 1330 Fillmore St, S.F., 415-655-5600, yoshis.com
2. The Fillmore: 1805 Geary Blvd., S.F., 415-346-6000, thefillmore.com
3. Davies Symphony Hall: 201 Van Ness Ave., S.F., 415-864-6000, sfsymphony.org

Best local band
1. Hillside Fire: myspace.com/hillsidefire
2. Brassworks Band: brassworksband.com
3. Big Light: biglightband.com

Best radio station
1. 102.1 KDFC: kdfc.com
2. 88.5 KQED Public Radio: kqed.org
3A. 104.5 KFOG: kfog.com
3B. 97.3: Alice radioalice.com

Best radio DJs
1. Dianne Nicollini and Hoyt Smith, 102.1 KDFC: kdfc.com
2. Sarah and Vinnie, 97.3 Alice: radioalice.com
3. Fernando and Greg, Movin 99.7: movin997.radio.com

Best TV station
1. Channel 9, KQED/PBS: 2601 Mariposa St., S.F., 415-864-2000, kqed.org
2. Channel 7, ABC: 900 Front St., S.F., 415-954-7777, abclocal.go.com/kgo
3. Channel 5, CBS KPIX-TV: 855 Battery St., S.F., 415-362-5550, cbs5.com

Best site for getting the Bay Area scoop
1. sfgate.com
2. sf.eater.com
3. sfist.com

Best cab service
1. Yellow Cab: 1200 Mississippi St., S.F., 415-333-333, yellowcabsf.com
2. Luxor Cab: 2230 Jerrold Ave., S.F., 415-282-4141, luxorcab.com
3. SF Green Cab: 2940 16th St., S.F., 415-626-4733, 626green.com

Best dog park
1. Point Isabel Dog Park: 2701 Isabel St., Richmond, 888-327-2757, ebparks.org/parks/pt_isabel
2. Fort Funston Golden Gate National Recreation Area: 500 Skyline Blvd., S.F., fortfunstondog.org
3. Crissy Field Bldg.: 201, Fort Mason, S.F., 415-561-3000, parksconservancy.org

Best restaurant in S.F./Oakland Chinatown
1. R&G Executive Lounge: 631 Kearny St., S.F., 415-982-7877, rnglounge.com
2. House of Nanking: 919 Kearny St., S.F., 415-421-1429
3. Sam Wo Restaurant: 813 Washington St., S.F., 415-982-0596

Best steakhouse
1. Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse: 1601 Van Ness Ave., S.F., 415-673-0557, ruthschris.com
2. House of Prime Rib: 1906 Van Ness Ave., S.F., 415-885-4605 houseofprimerib.net
3. Harris’ Restaurant: 2100 Van Ness Ave., S.F., 415-673-1888, harrisrestaurant.com

Best selection of beer on tap
1. Toronado: 547 Haight St., S.F., 415-863-2276, toronado.com
2. Monk’s Kettle: 3141 16th St., S.F., 415-865-9523, monkskettle.com
3. Magnolia Gastropub & Brewery: 1398 Haight St., S.F., 415-864-7468, magnoliapub.com

Best trivia night
1. Edinburgh Castle Pub: 950 Geary St., S.F., 415-885-4074, castlenews.com
2. The Bitter End: 441 Clement St., S.F., 415-221-9538, www.travelnotes.org/BitterEnd/
3. Mad Dog in the Fog: 530 Haight St., S.F., 415-626-7279


Best neighborhood

1. The Mission
2. Noe Valley
3. The Richmond

Best place to dine with a crowd

1. Slanted Door: 1 Ferry Building., S.F., 415-861-8032, slanteddoor.com

2. Buca di Beppo: 855 Howard St., S.F., 415-543-7673, bucadibeppo.com

3. Nopa: 560 Divisadero St., S.F., 415-864-8649, nopasf.com

Best happy hour

1. Americano Bar at Hotel Vitale: 8 Mission St., S.F., 415-278-3777, americanorestaurant.com

2. Hog Island Oyster Company: 855 Howard St., S.F., 415-543-7673, hogislandoysters.com

3. Taverna Aventine: 582 Washington St., S.F., 415-981-1500, aventinesf.com

Best street food

1. Crème Brûlée Cart: Mission St. and 22nd St., S.F., twitter.com/cremebruleecart

2. Chez Spencer On the Go: Across from Terrior Natural Wine Merchant and Bar, 7th & Folsom Sts., S.F., 415-543-7673, spenceronthego.com

3. The Tamale Lady: Mission St., S.F.

Best farmers' market stand

1. Ferry Building Marketplace (all stands): Market St. at Embarcadero, S.F., ferrybuildingmarketplace.com

2. Alemany Farmers Market: 100 Alemany Blvd., S.F., 415-647-9423

3. Dirty Girl Produce: 111 Rathburn Way, Santa Cruz, 831-818-6516

Best chef

1. Gary Danko: 800 North Point St., S.F. garydanko.com

2. Roland Passot: La Folie, 2316 Polk St., S.F., 415-647-9423, lafolie.com
3. Dennis Lee: Namu, 439 Balboa St., S.F., 415-386-8332, namusf.com

Best bartender/mixologist

1. Nick Jumonville: Casanova, 527 Valencia St., S.F. casanovasf.com
2. Amy Lenz: Chez Papa, 1401 18th St., S.F., 415-824-8205, chezpapa.com
3. Scott Beattie: Cyrus, 86 Front St., Healdsburg, 707-433-3311, cyrusrestaurant.com

Best place to volunteer
1. Glide: 330 Ellis St., S.F., 415-674-6000, glide.org
2. SF/SPCA: 2500 16th St., S.F., 415-554-3000, sfspca.org
3A. Family House: 50 Irving St., S.F., 415-476-8321, familyhouseinc.org
3B. Meals on Wheels: 1375 Fairfax Ave., S.F., 415-920-1111, mowsf.org

Best bar/club to get styled up for
1. Bourbon & Branch: 501 Jones St., S.F., 415-931-7292, bourbonandbranch.com
2. 111 Minna Gallery: 111 Minna St., S.F., 415-974-1719, 111minnagallery.com
3A. Ambassador: 673 Geary St., S.F., 415-563-8192, ambassador415.com
3B. Top of the Mark: 1 Nob Hill, S.F., 415-616-6916, intercontinentalmarkhopkins.com

Best daily/weekly e-newsletter
1. eNotes, KDFC: kdfc.com
2. SFGate, San Francisco Chronicle: sfgate.com
3. The Tablehopper: tablehopper.com

Best local celebrity

1. Robin Williams: robinwilliams.com
2. Willie Brown: wlbinstitute.org
3. Gavin Newsom: gavinnewsom.com

Best movie theater
1. Sundance Kabuki Cinema: 1881 Post St., S.F., 415-929-4650, sundancecinemas.com
2. The Balboa Theater: 3630 Balboa St., S.F., 415-221-8184, balboamovies.com
3. The Castro Theatre: 429 Castro St., S.F., 415-621-6120, castrotheatre.com

Best local fashion designer
1. Babette: 361 Sutter St., S.F., 415-837-1442, babettesf.com
2. Christopher Collins: 1112 Sutter St., S.F., 415-440-2464, christophercollinscollection.com
3A
. Jessica McClintock: 180 Geary St., 4th Fl., S.F., 415-398-9008, jessicamcclintock.com
3B. Sunhee Moon: 3167 16th St., S.F., 415-355-1800, sunheemoon.com

Best pamper spot
1. Johnny Bueno Color Studio: 166 Geary St., Ste. 1005, S.F., 415-362-2668, johnny-bueno.com
2. Kabuki Springs & Spa: 1750 Geary Blvd., S.F., 415-992-6000, kabukisprings.com
3. Nob Hill Spa at the Huntington Hotel: 1075 California St., S.F., 415-345-2888, nobhillspa.com

Best salon
1. Johnny Bueno Color Studio: 166 Geary St., Ste. 1005, S.F., 415-362-2668, johnny-bueno.com
2. Milváli: 2040 Union St., S.F., 415-409-1500, milvali.com
3. Di Pietro Todd: 1919 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Walnut Creek, 925-938-1919, dipietrotodd.com (see website for other locations)

Best getaway in San Francisco
1. Golden Gate Park: parks.sfgov.org
2. Presidio: nps.gov/goga
3. Ocean Beach: nps.gov/goga

Best pizza
1. Zachary’s: 1853 Solano Ave., Berkeley, 510-525-5950, zacharys.com (see website for other locations)
2. Pizzeria Delfina: 3611 18th St., S.F., 415-437-6800, pizzeriadelfina.com
3. Little Star Pizza: 400 Valencia St., S.F., 415-551-7827; 846 Divisadero St., S.F., 415-441-1118; littlestarpizza.com

Best artisan baker
1. Acme Bread Co.: Ferry Building Marketplace (Market St. at Embarcadero), S.F., 415-288-2978, ferrybuildingmarketplace.com
2. Tartine: 600 Guerrero St., S.F., 415-487-2600, tartinebakery.com
3. Arizmendi Bakery: 1331 9th Ave., S.F., 415-566-3117, arizmendibakery.com (see website for other locations)

Best vegetarian restaurant
1. Greens: Fort Mason, Bldg. A, , S.F., 415-771-6222, greensrestaurant.com
2. Millennium: 580 Geary St., S.F., 415-345-3900, millenniumrestaurant.com
3. Café Gratitude: 2400 Harrison St., S.F., 415-830-3014, cafegratitude.com (see website for other locations)

Best weeknight party
1. NightLife at the California Academy of Sciences: 55 Music Concourse Dr., S.F., 415-379-8000, calacademy.org/events/nightlife
2. Cat Club: 1190 Folsom St., S.F., 415-703-8965, sfcatclub.com
3. Latin American Club: 3286 22nd St., S.F., 415-647-2732

Best bar for watching the game
1. Kezar Pub & Restaurant: 770 Stanyan St., S.F., 415-386-9292
2. Pete’s Tavern: 128 King St., S.F., 415-817-5040, petestavernsf.com
3. Greens Sports Bar: 2239 Polk St., S.F., 415-775-4287

Best thrift/consignment store
1. Goodwill: 86 11th St., S.F., 415-575-2197, sfgoodwill.org (see website for other locations)
2. Thrift Town: 2101 Mission St., S.F., 415-861-1132, thrifttown.com
3. Crossroads Trading Co.: 630 Irving St., S.F., 415-681-0100, crossroadstrading.com (see website for other locations)

Best place to get fit
1. Club One: 2 Embarcadero Center, S.F., 415-788-1010, clubone.com (see website for other locations)
2. JCC: 3200 California St., S.F., 415-292-1200, jccsf.com
3. 24 Hour Fitness: 100 California St., Ste. 200, S.F., 415-434-5080, 24hourfitness.com (see website for other locations)

Best park for kids
1. Golden Gate Park: parks.sfgov.org
2. Julius Kahn Playground: West Pacific Ave. (bet. Arguello and Presidio gates), S.F., 415-831-2700

Best local author
1. Amy Tan: amytan.net
2. Dave Eggers
3. Isabel Allende: isabelallende.com