Now Playing



Thirty Days, Zero Covers

30 days of free events this November.

 

This is part of "Live Large, Spend Less," a comprehensive guide to surviving (and even flourishing) in America's most expensive city. See all of the stories here.

 

In some places, culture comes with a hefty price tag. but not in the Bay Area, where every museum has a free day, every town has an art walk, and every bar has an open mic night. Here, the free monthly and weekly events taking place in November—and every month thereafter.

Saturday, November 1
49 Geary First Saturdays: Select galleries open their doors to the public every first Saturday.

Oakland Art Murmur Saturday Stroll: Explore the town’s gallery row every Saturday afternoon.

Sunday, November 2
Museum Free Day: Every first Sunday at the Asian Art museum and the Oakland Museum of California.

Lindy in the Park: Swing lessons at 11 a.m. in Golden Gate Park every Sunday.

Monday, November 3
Hotel Utah Open Mic Night: Known for attracting bands on the rise every Monday night.

Make-Out Room First Mondays: Free jazz concert every first Monday.

Motown on Mondays: Local DJs remix motown classics weekly at the Madrone.

Tuesday, November 4
Museum Free Day: Every first Tuesday at the Legion of Honor, the de Young museum, and the Museum of Craft and Design.

Radar Reading Series: Michelle Tea hosts, indie writers read, and free cookies abound every first Tuesday at the San Francisco Main Library.

Wood Shoppe: A free indie concert series that brings emerging acts both local and national to the Brick & Mortar every first Tuesday.

Underground Nomads: World music and belly-dancing performances at Soma’s F8 every Tuesday before 9:30 p.m. 1192 Folsom St. (Near 8th St.), 415-857-1192

Wednesday, November 5
Museum Free Day: Every first Wednesday at the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender History museum.

Thursday, November 6
Museum Free Day: Every first Thursday at the Berkeley Art museum and the Chinese Historical Society museum.

49 Geary First Thursdays: After-hours at select galleries, rotating on a monthly basis every first Thursday.

Lower Polk Art Walk: Cruise through up to 20 galleries every first Thursday.

Friday, November 7
SoMa Streat Food Comedy: Bay Area comedians and food trucks conspire to get you to laugh with your mouth full every Friday.

Oakland Art Murmur First Fridays: The town’s 40-gallery monthly art walk every first Friday.

North Beach Art Crawl: An unguided gallery tour every first Friday.

Saturday,November 8
Saturday Write Fever: Original scripts are written on the fly and handed off to actors who perform them onstage, every second Saturday at the Exit Theater. 156 Eddy St. (Near Mason St.), 415-931-1094

Oakland Art Murmur Saturday Stroll (see 11/1)

Sunday, November 9
Octagon House Tour: Explore the 150-year-old, eight-sided domicile in the Marina every second Sunday and second and fourth Thursday.

Lindy in the Park (see 11/2)

Monday, November 10
Cyberpunk Cinema: “Almost” every second Monday, the Knockout puts on a flick along the lines of Blade Runner or Cowboy Bebop. 3223 Mission St. (Near Valencia St.), 415-550-6994

Hotel Utah Open Mic Night (see 11/3)

Motown on Mondays (see 11/3)

Tuesday, November 11
Underground Nomads (see 11/4)

Wednesday, November 12
Dream Queens Revue: Get glittered at Aunt Charlie’s Lounge’s drag show every second and fourth Wednesday.

Thursday, November 13
Octagon House Tour (see 11/9)

Friday, November 14
S.F. Grotto Writers 3 Minute Reads: New Grotto graduates read their best—with a three-minute time limit—at Book Passage every few months.

Central Market Now: Brings art and performances to Freespace every second Friday.

SoMa Streat Food Comedy (see 11/7)

Saturday, November 15
Oakland Art Murmur Saturday Stroll (see 11/1)

Sunday, November 16
Lindy in the Park (see 11/2)

Monday, November 17
Hotel Utah Open Mic Night (see 11/3)

Motown on Mondays (see 11/3)

Tuesday, November 18
Sketch Tuesdays: Bay Area artists craft on-the-spot masterpieces that are immediately for sale to the party crowd every third Tuesday at 111 Minna Gallery.
Underground Nomads (see 11/4)

Wednesday, November 19
Smack Dab Open Mic: Magnet’s come-one, come-all event, complete with ukulele-wielding hosts. 4122 18th St. (Near Castro St.), 415-581-1600

Thursday, November 20
Third Thursdays in Yerba Buena: Music and art in Yerba Buena Gardens.

Friday, November 21
SoMa Streat Food Comedy (see 11/7)

Saturday, November 22
Oakland Art Murmur Saturday Stroll (see 11/1)

Sunday, November 23
Lindy in the Park (see 11/2)

Monday, November 24
Hotel Utah Open Mic Night (see 11/3)

Motown on Mondays (see 11/3)

Tuesday, November 25
Poetry at the 33: Poetry readings at the 3300 Club—Kim Addonizio is rumored to be a regular. 3300 Mission St. (Near 29th St.), 415-826-6886

Underground Nomads (see 11/4)

Wednesday, November 26
Dream Queens Revue (see 11/12)

Thursday, November 27
Octagon House Tour (see 11/9)

Friday, November 28
Under the Influence Reading: Writers read the works of their literary muses every fourth Friday at the Emerald Tablet. 80 Fresno St. (Near Vallejo St.), 415-500-2323

SoMa Streat Food Comedy (see 11/7)

Saturday, November 29
Oakland Art Murmur Saturday Stroll (see 11/1)

Sunday, November 30
Lindy in the Park (see 11/2)

 

Originally published in the November issue of San Francisco

Have feedback? Email us at letterssf@sanfranmag.com
Email Adam Brinklow at abrinklow@modernluxury.com
Follow us on Twitter @sanfranmag
Follow Adam Brinklow on Twitter @AdamLBrinklow